Wilmot Center for Women’s Imaging

Wilmot Center for Women's Imaging

677 N. Wilmot Rd.
Tucson, AZ 85711
To schedule an appointment please call (520) 733-7226.

Hours: M-F 7:00am-7:00pm
Digital Mammography: M-F 7:00am-6:00pm

Site Accreditations
American College of Radiology ACR Gold Seal Accredited Facility PET
The American College of Radiology (ACR) recognizes breast imaging centers that achieve excellence by seeking and earning accreditation in all of the ACR’s voluntary breast imaging accreditation programs and modules in addition to the mandatory Mammography Accreditation Program by providing them a certificate that identifies them as a Breast Imaging Center of Excellence. The College will award the designation and one certificate at no additional fee to a center to acknowledge their dedication to improving women’s health by participating in these rigorous quality assurance programs. All Breast Imaging Center of Excellence facilities will be identified by the symbol shown on the ACR’s “Accredited Facility Search” web page.

In order to receive the ACR’s Breast Imaging Center of Excellence designation, a center must be fully accredited in:

  • Mammography by the ACR (or an FDA-approved state accrediting body)
  • Stereotactic Breast Biopsy by the ACR
  • Breast Ultrasound by the ACR (including the Ultrasound-Guided Breast Biopsy module)

The ACR is the leader in quality programs for breast imaging. As such, it is developing new initiatives to stay current with the science and technology that drive radiology practice as well as the clinical needs of the profession. In the future, centers may need to meet more rigorous requirements, such as performing expanded audits or achieving accreditation in Breast MRI, to maintain their designtion as Breast Imaging Centers of Excellence.

The ACR is a 34,000 member professional society which includes radiologists, radiation oncologists, medical physicists, interventional radiologists and nuclear medicine physicians. All imaging facilities that provide mammography must be certified by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Mammography Quality Standards Act and Program. To be certified, an imaging facility must be accredited. The FDA has designated the ACR as an accrediting body. Imaging centers/facilities aren’t required to seek ACR accreditation in other modalities (MRI, Ultrasound, etc.), but do so voluntarily.